Never a Bestfriend

Today, I saw my ex-best friend. We haven’t seen each other for a while because she’s busy ruining her own life. (a long story…)

She laughs at me for not having a boyfriend, and for not having anyone. We don’t share the same interests and beliefs anymore. We were almost sisters, but that was very long time ago, and our story has gone too long and wrong. We walked different paths, took different programs, entered different colleges. Most things have changed.

Unlike me, love life for her is easiest to find. When she let’s go a guy, there’s always another who wishes to be a part of her life. She’s a great catch. She used to be very beautiful and kind, before. She’s still beautiful. I never envied her for it. I have a very different approach on things.

She still hopes that one day, someone will love me too, the way her boyfriend loves her. I appreciate that. But she jokes a lot with me not having anyone. Sometimes, it really sounds offensive. Because having a love life in our age is normal, and often times, considered cool. It is sometimes a basis of beauty for some people, but not for me.

For  me, being single doesn’t mean something’s wrong. I’m open to it (the love life thingy), really. But don’t make me think like I have to beg for love to the wrong men to be as happy as you think you are. Because I will never look at it in that perspective. I’d rather be single for the rest of my life than spend my life with the men that God never destined me to be with. I am joyful everyday for my trust is on God alone and I don’t really worry on what is happening and will happen in my life.

Published by

Jnnpld

Hi, I'm j, 21 years of age. I am a fresh graduate of architecture. I want to explore life to the fullest. And if you want to talk to me, please do. jannapalad@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

